This guide will help you locate reliable resources for health statistics.
- National Healthcare Quality & Disparities Reports
These reports measure trends in effectiveness of care, patient safety, timeliness of care, patient centeredness, and efficiency of care
- AHRQ Comparative Effectiveness Reviews
Comparative effectiveness research is designed to inform health-care decisions by providing evidence on the effectiveness, benefits, and harms of different treatment options. The evidence is generated from research studies that compare drugs, medical devices, tests, surgeries, or ways to deliver health care.
The following websites are created by the U.S. government and other international organizations to provide users with free health data.
Be sure to look for the "For Clinicians" links.
- Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality
Use the A To Z Index at the top or explore the links provided in the Research & Data section for statistical information.
- Centers for Disease Control and Prevention: Data & Statistics
An alphabetical list provides links to statistical data by health topic. A menu on the right provides links to statistical tools and additional resources.
- Gender Equality Data and Statistics
From the World Bank. Provides country and regional-level data using key indicators such as poverty head count, fertility rate and maternal mortality ratio, ratio of live births.
- Global Health Facts - Kaiser Foundation
Find statistics on health and other subjects on a global scale or by country.
- Health Data Tools and Statistics
Visit this resource guide for a comprehensive list of links to online statistical health sources.
- Health Indicators Warehouse
- Kids Count Data Center
The Annie E. Casey Foundation provides access to a multitude of variables concerning pediatric health statistics nationally and by state.
- National Center for Health Statistics
The NCHS is the largest provider of statistical health data in the U.S. Access different subjects using the A-Z bar at the top or the FastStats box. The Tools & Resources box provides other useful links.
- NIH- Finding and Using Health Statistics
- OECD Health Data
Country health statistics and other social indicators data with charts.
- State Health Facts - Kaiser Foundation
Statistics by state or category and comparison charts.
- USA.gov - Data and Statistics
Select Health and Nutrition
- Womenshealth.gov Statistics
Provided by the Office on Women's Health, "the system provides state- and county-level data for all 50 states, the District of Columbia, and US territories and possessions. Data are available by gender, race and ethnicity and come from a variety of national and state sources. The system is organized into eleven main categories, including demographics, mortality, natality, reproductive health, violence, prevention, disease and mental health. Within each main category, there are numerous subcategories."
- World Health Organization - Global Health Observatory
The GHO data repository provides access to over 1000 indicators on priority health topics including mortality and burden of diseases, the Millennium Development Goals (child nutrition, child health, maternal and reproductive health, immunization, HIV/AIDS, tuberculosis, malaria, neglected diseases, water and sanitation), non communicable diseases and risk factors, epidemic-prone diseases, health systems, environmental health, violence and injuries, equity among others. In addition, the GHO provides on-line access to WHO's annual summary of health-related data for its member states: the World Health Statistics 2014.
- CDC - Diseases and Conditions A - Z List
This is a great site from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention with links to information for health professionals and good statistical information.
The CDC FastStats site provides quick access to statistics on diseases and other topics of public health importance
If you need assistance drop by the Reference Desk or contact a reference librarian.